Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeBoontonTown of Boonton held its annual reorganization meeting

Town of Boonton held its annual reorganization meeting

Mayor Matt DiLauri announced he will not seek a second term


BOONTON — On New Year’s Day, the Town of Boonton held its annual reorganization meeting. Senator Anthony Bucco, Assemblyman Anthony Bucco, Freeholder Director Doug Cabana, Freeholder Tom Mastrangelo, Freeholder Heather Darling, and Senator Dick Codey joined dozens of Town residents, Fire Department members and Police Department members.

Fire Department Officers take the Oath of Office

In his remarks, Mayor Matt DiLauri, who was elected in 2015, thanked the community and the Board of Aldermen for their support, but announced that he would not seek re-election for a second term in 2019.

Town Clerk Cynthia Oravits administers the Oath to Alderman Cyril Wekilsky.

The Town of Boonton is designated as a Town Form of Government. The governing body is a nine member board that includes the Mayor and eight Aldermen (two per ward). The Mayor serves a four-year term and is elected by residents from all four wards. Aldermen serve a two-year term and are elected by the residents of their specific ward. Republicans gained a seat on the Board of Aldermen in this fall’s Election. The Board now features four Republicans and four Democrats.

In 2018, newcomers Joseph Fenske (D, Ward 3), and Michael Cardillo (R, Ward 4), were elected to their first terms. Cyril Wekilsky (R, Ward 1) and Bob Tullock (D, Ward 2) won Re-Election. Assemblyman Anthony Bucco, Jr. administered the Oath to Michael Cardillo. Senator Dick Codey administered the Oath to Bob Tullock. Eddie Robillard begins his second year as Fire Chief and provided remarks about how thankful he was for the opportunity to serve his hometown.

The 2019 Fire Department Officers are as follows:

Chief: Edward Robillard
Deputy Chief: David Kaplan
Battalion Chief: Eric Joinson
Maxfield Hook & Ladder Co. #1
Captain: Anthony Cosentino
Lieutenant: Bob Destefano
Salvage & Rescue Co. 1
Captain: Anthony Bucco
Lieutenant: David Francisco
Maxfield Hose & Engine Co. 1
Captain: Bruce Middleton
Lieutenant: Tyler Wendt
Harmony Hose & Engine Co. 2
Captain: John Cosentino
Lieutenant: Jim Dodd
South Boonton Hose & Engine Co. 3
Captain: Craig Drake
Lieutenant: Richard Koba

Fire Chief Ed Robillard provides remarks to his community
Frank Cahill
Frank Cahill
Publisher of Parsippany Focus since 1989 and Morris Focus since January 1, 2019, both covering a wide range of events. Mr. Cahill serves as the Executive Board Member of the Parsippany Area Chamber of Commerce, President Kiwanis Club of Tri-Town, and Chairman of the Parsippany-Troy Hills Economic Development Advisory Board. Owner of the Morris now app serving small business in Morris County.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Click on image to read magazine



Translate »