Morris Freeholders Fete CCM Trustee Joe Weisberg for Excellence

Freeholder Kathy DeFillippo and Doug Cabana, Joe Weisberg, and Freeholder Deborah Smith

MORRIS COUNTY — The Morris County Board of Freeholders this week awarded a resolution of thanks and congratulations to Joseph Weisberg of Parsippany for his 25-year commitment to the County College of Morris as a trustee, and as the recipient of the Ronald D. Winthers Trustee Leadership Award by the New Jersey Council of  County Colleges.

The state award is given to long-time trustees who have made outstanding contributions to their community colleges.

CCM Trustees Thomas Pepe and Jefferey Advokat, CCM President Anthony Iacono, Freeholders Stephen Shaw, Kathy DeFillippo, Doug Cabana, Joseph Weisberg, Freeholders Deborah Smith, Thomas Mastrangelo, and John Krickus, and CCM Trustee Paul Licitra

“We thank Joe for the significant volunteer efforts he has made at CCM to ensure that our community college remains  a beacon of education in New Jersey,” said Morris County Freeholder Doug Cabana, who presented a county resolution to Weisberg at the Freeholder Board’s Wednesday, January 23 meeting. “We also congratulate him for his efforts as a longtime educator who has made a difference to so many students in our state.”

Joining the freeholders at the event were CCM President Anthony Iacono and CCM Trustees Thomas Pepe, Paul Licitra, Jeffrey Advokat, and

Weisberg, who is a former councilman and mayor in Parsippany, has served on the CCM Board of Trustees for 25 years and has made significant contributions both within the institution and throughout the educational system at large. His longevity on the Board of Trustees has allowed him to serve on practically all of its committees at some point.

Notable special committees he has served on at CCM include the Personnel Committee and the Lands and Buildings Committee. Weisberg also is on the Organization, Bylaws and Nomination Committee on which he helped draft and approve the CCM Statement of Trustee Responsibility and the trustee self-evaluation tool currently in use.

During his involvement in planning and budgeting, he has used his background in higher education and as a science professor in the process of renovating and updating buildings to create state-of-the-art educational spaces that promote learning, creativity and the  cutting-edge skills specifically required to serve the community college population; and

The Winthers Award was presented to Weisberg on November 16 as part of the New Jersey Council of County Colleges’ Vision 2028 Leadership Summit. It is named after long-time Rowan College at Burlington County Trustee Ronald D. Winthers, who served the college for more than 25 years, served on the national board of the Association of Community College Trustees and as chairman of the NJCCC.

Weisberg’s service to the community extends far beyond the CCM campus to his hometown of Parsippany and Morris County. He is a founding member and chair of the Morris County Open Space and Farmland Acquisition Committee, mayor and councilman in Parsippany, member of the Parsippany Board of Education, Charter Member Kiwanis Club of Greater Parsippany, trustee of the Parsippany-Troy-Hills Public Library and Parsippany PAL, and member of the New Jersey Historical Commission, among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here