Cary Amaro Leads Freeholder Race

If Amaro wins the race, she will be the first Democrat elected freeholder since Doug Romaine was elected in 1973

Cary Amaro

MORRIS COUNTY — The polls are closed and the ballots are being tallied and soon Morris County residents will know who will represent them on the Board of Freeholders. As of Tuesday, November 3, 2020, 9:55:31 p.m. the following results for the Morris County Board of Freeholder candidates.  26.41% of the votes in Morris County were counted.

Democrat Cary Amaro 54,430 54.23%
Republican Tayfun Selen 44,181 45.70%
Write-Ins 70
Votes Cast 96,681

A post on Selen’s campaign Facebook page on Wednesday morning stated, “Only a small percentage of the votes counted for the Morris County Freeholder race and due to the volume of the ballots received by the board of elections, results are not expected until early next week. We will post updates as we receive them. We are very optimistic about the outcome.”

Cary is an experienced leader who believes in fiscal responsibility, accountability, and transparency in government. As a long-time resident and homeowner in Randolph Township, Cary raised her two children, experiencing all the wonderful attributes Morris County has to offer.

Selen was elected at a special Morris County GOP convention on February 1 to fill the year-long vacancy created when voters in 2019 elected Heather Darling of Roxbury as Morris County Surrogate. He was Chatham Township mayor at the time and previously served on the Chatham Borough Board of Adjustment before moving to the township.

If Amaro wins the race, she will be the first Democrat elected freeholder since Doug Romaine was elected in 1973. She also ran for freeholder last year.

Results will be updated as they are provided by the Board of Elections and are subject to change until all ballots have been counted.

Complete Mail-In Ballot results will not be available until after November 10, the deadline for timely postmarked Mail-In Ballots to be received. Provisional Ballots will be counted once all Mail-In Ballots have been tallied.

Official final results may not be available until November 20.