House Science Committee Names Congresswoman Sherrill Chair of the Investigations and Oversight Subcommittee

Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill

PARSIPPANY — Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill was named Chair of the Investigations and Oversight Subcommittee of the House Science, Space, and Technology Committee. The subcommittee is empowered with investigative authority on all matters concerning non-defense federal research.

“Federal research is vital to the innovation that drives our local economy and global competitiveness,” said Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill. “I am proud to lead the subcommittee in support of the independence and integrity of science and scientists advancing the fields of energy, space, and transportation.”

The House Science, Space, and Technology Committee has jurisdiction over non-defense federal research and development, including the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), National Science Foundation (NSF), and National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). It also has jurisdiction over research and development at the Department of Energy (DOE), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Department of Transportation (DOT), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Weather Service (NWS), and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here