Monday, February 26, 2024
HomeMorris CountyMorris GOP sweeps county races

Morris GOP sweeps county races


MORRIS COUNTY — The results are in. Morris Focus has compiled a list of results in our circulation area.

Morris County Republicans continued a 46-year streak of winning countywide elections, easily re-electing three freeholders and the sheriff and holding on to the surrogate post.

Heather Darling is the first female Surrogate and first time two of three constitutional are female.

General Assembly 25th Legislative District
Includes Town of Boonton, Boonton Township and Mountain Lakes Borough

Anthony M. Bucco Republican 25,614 27.12%
Brian Bergen Republican 24,316 25.74%
Lisa Bhimani Democrat 22,550 23.87%
Darcy Draeger Democrat 21,918 23.21%

General Assembly 26th Legislative District
Includes Parsippany-Troy Hills and Morris Plains

BettyLou DeCroce Republican 17,491 28.60%
Jay Webber Republican 17,338 28.35%
Laura Fortgang Democrat 13,005 21.26%
Christine Clarke Democrat 13,303 21.75%

General Assembly 27th Legislative District
Includes East Hanover Township, Florham Park Borough, Hanover Township and Madison Borough.

Michael Dailey Republican 8,508 27.16%
Mauro G. Tucci, Jr. Republican 8,377 26.74%
John F. McKeon Democrat 7,322 23.27%
Mila M. Jasey Democrat 7,117 22.72%

Morris County Sheriff

James Gannon Republican 64,259 59.28%
William Schievella Democrat 44,104 4068%

Morris County Surrogate

Heather Darling Republican 59,560 56.09%
Michael T. Thompson 46,589 43.88%

Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholder

Kathy DeFillippo Republican 59,069 18.72%
Douglas Cabana Republican 58,174 18.43%
Thomas Mastrangelo Republican 57,747 18.30%
Cara Parmigiani Democrat 47,781 15.17%
Cary Amaro Democrat 46,840 14.84%
David Timpanaro Democrat 45,791  14.51%

Editor’s Note: Results are subject to change until all ballots have been counted; Mail-In Ballots received prior to the close of polls are included; Final Mail-In Ballot & Provisional Ballot results are pending.

Frank Cahill
Frank Cahill
Publisher of Parsippany Focus since 1989 and Morris Focus since January 1, 2019, both covering a wide range of events. Mr. Cahill serves as the Executive Board Member of the Parsippany Area Chamber of Commerce, Lt. Governor of Division 9 Kiwanis Club of NJ, and Chairman of the Parsippany-Troy Hills Economic Development Advisory Board. Owner of the Morris now app serving small business in Morris County.

Click on image to read magazine



Translate »